J Bev
1 min readOct 12, 2020

Last edit

Shower’s too hot to step inside

Didn’t feel like going out tonight

I checked my list off today

I guess it’s time to cry or celebrate

See shame is black and it likes to hide

They gave me a camel for this rucksack

He couldn’t look me in the eyes

I’ll finish this bottle and the one after that

Throw my life into a black lagoon

Comfort approaches like a full moon

I keep searching with the lights out

For some old familiar sound

My ear has been here for days

Glued to the ground

Cause’ I know if I stand up, I’ll fall back down

And I used to stick my landings

Grace evades me now

This world is a chemical burn, an open bleed

News anchors and their catch of the day

Nothing real, their plastic smiles don’t fade

The butterflies in my stomach escape from my mouth

They look so ephemeral as they migrate South

Laying on this cold floor

Waiting for my final cue

Sometimes I talk to myself

At least my words are my truth

When there is nobody left on the planet

To ask you how you are

It’s time to blast off to that black hole and float amongst the stars

Gave up my comfortable grave

for this gilded new maze

Tried to please you all

But there's something special about the Fall

So do you what will make you feel righteous and whole

Follow your conscience

don’t forget to save your soul

As for me, I’m like the sand beneath your toes

J Bev

Stories from my life and experience as a mother, non traditional student, and survivor of addiction and trauma.